N3M3S1S   -  Oct 22, 2012

What language should I use to make the new RPGenerator? I was thinking of making it for mIRC, but I think I will rather make it it's own program.

I was thinking Python, or maybe Perl... What about AutoIt?

Hawkee  -  Oct 22, 2012

Python is really popular right now. It's a very nice language. It gets my vote.

Sorasyn  -  Oct 23, 2012

I'd say Python. It's a bit informal if you ask me, but it will definitely get the job done!

sean  -  Oct 23, 2012
If you're new to Python, here's a great interactive resource http://www.codecademy.com/tracks/python plug>
Hawkee  -  Oct 23, 2012

That your site @sean?

N3M3S1S  -  Oct 25, 2012

Yes I am totally new to Python. The only languages I know fluently is mIRC's mSL. I have played around with C++ and AutoIt as well. C++ is out of the question, too much for me. I want to use AutoIt since I want to get to know more of it and it has a wonderful arsenal of tools and includes.

I'm torn between Python and AutoIt. I may go with AutoIt since I already have it installed on my computer and I am already familiar with it...

Hawkee  -  Oct 25, 2012

Definitely go with Python. It's a much more popular and better supported language than AutoIt.

N3M3S1S  -  Oct 25, 2012

Its not necessarily support I'm looking for. AutoIt has everything I need for this, and plus once its compiled it shouldn't matter. IDK about to post info on my current mini project ;)

Sorasyn  -  Oct 25, 2012

Python is big on Linux-based distributions, as far as I know anyway, and it does have some online presence. Would be good for developing programs that are cross compatible with other operating systems.